Monday, November 28, 2011

1969 was a transitional season in the NBA

The 1969 NBA Season was a transitional period in the league. The league had been dominated for years by the likes of the Boston Celtics, led by Bill Russell. Russell had at this point and the league was ready to move on with new stars taking the lead. The Celtics had won the previous two championships, but with the loss of Russell they were certainly at a disadvantage in the 1969-70 season. 

 The league was ready for a new team to step up and take the lead. The New York Knicks appeared to be up to the challenge in that season. The Knicks were led by Willis Reed. Reed was the league MVP that season and led the Knicks to the best record in the National Basketball Association. 

 The Knicks bested the Milwaukee Bucks by winning 60 games on the season while only losing 22 games. The Milwaukee Bucks were second in the league in victories at 56. While the Bucks were not the top team in the league, they were certainly a dangerous one. The Bucks were led by former UCLA star Lew Alcindor. 

 Lew Alcindor is better known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar to most people. Alcindor was a rookie on a Bucks team that was only 2 years old, but they certainly made a lot of improvement over the previous season in which they won 27 games. Abdul-Jabbar was 2nd in the league in scoring, 3 in rebounds and 7th in the league in field goal percentage on the season.
The Baltimore Bullets were the 3rd best team in the league, winning 50 games. This meant that the Eastern Division had the top three teams in the NBA within their division. The last team in the playoff picture for the season would be the Philadelphia 76ers. The 76ers finished with a record of 42-40 on the season. 

 The non-playoff teams in the Eastern Division were the Cincinnati Royals, Boston Celtics and the Detroit Pistons. The Royals managed to win 36 games. The Celtics saw a large downfall with the departure of Bill Russell and were only able to reel in 34 victories on the season. The Pistons were the worst team in the conference with 31 victories.
The Western Division was won by the Atlanta Hawks. The Hawks led the Western Division with a 48-34 record. The next best team in the West was the Los Angeles Lakers. The Lakers were led by the top scorer in the NBA, Jerry West. The Lakers had been the losers to the Celtics many times in previous years and saw the absence of Russell from the Celtics as a chance for them to jump to the top of the league. 

 The Phoenix Suns and Chicago Bulls were the last two playoff teams, making the playoffs with sub .500 records of 39-43. The Seattle SuperSonics, San Francisco Warriors and San Diego Rockets were the three teams in the conference that did not make the playoffs. 
The Lakers did indeed make it to the finals again, but once again they fell short of the NBA Championship. The Knicks would take the Championship with a 4-3 series victory in the Finals.

AUTHOR:- Tatum Oneill writes reviews on various sporting events including the various online sportsbook. In this piece of write up the author wrote about National Basketball Association games. The author takes the readers opinion on how to do NBA Betting online. 

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...